Print Thread
Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: Walking to and from ur stand ?? [Re: Texas Dan] #3428533 07/31/12 07:21 PM
txshntr Offline
T-Rex Arms
T-Rex Arms
Originally Posted By: Texas Dan
Originally Posted By: txshntr
I recognize the need for an orange vest in the day in certain places and certain situations. I do not wear an orange vest at all times in the woods, therefore I do not use a light in all places in the woods.

That seems much like the construction worker who tells his supervisor that he prefers to wear his hard hat only when he feels he needs it.

I work in construction and only wear mine when I feel like I need it. If I was building a chicken coup, I wouldn't wear it. If I was working under a sink, I wouldn't wear it. Once the ceiling goes in, OSHA says you don't have to wear it.

See, same thing. Depends on the situation.

[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
Re: Walking to and from ur stand ?? [Re: txshntr] #3428559 07/31/12 07:30 PM
dfwroadkill Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
Guess I missed the story confused2

3rd post, page 4...

Re: Walking to and from ur stand ?? [Re: dfwroadkill] #3428573 07/31/12 07:34 PM
txshntr Offline
T-Rex Arms
T-Rex Arms
From what I gather from that story, the guy was a known poacher, suspected to hunt at night and the officer went to catch him. When he confronted the suspect, the suspect shot him and made up a wild story about a "bush shaking creature". That would better explain the punishment than an accidental shooting.

IMO, the safety issue cannot be overlooked when it comes to walking without a light. Some people are much more afraid of the dark than others, even to the extent of firing into the dark to scare away whatever they think it is that's after them.