Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Sandhill Crane Really That Good? [Re: Jgraider] #8917509 09/15/23 02:35 AM
B
brownthunder Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
B
Jgraider, those crane brest sliced to about 1/2 " thick and chicken fried are hard to beat.

Re: Sandhill Crane Really That Good? [Re: Guy] #8917535 09/15/23 03:04 AM
B
BradyBuck Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
B
Originally Posted by Guy
Originally Posted by BradyBuck
Grilled fresh, medium rare, you’d be hard pressed to find any other wild game that beats it. Quail is the only other game bird I might like better.

If you over cook it like other birds or try and roast it, it’ll suck.

I’m not a quail expert, but I’m pretty sure quail is like chicken, it needs to be fully cooked, you do not want to eat it med rare. And it is good fully cooked. Waterfowl, on the other hand, it is like beef, it is best rare, med rare, but will taste like liver if you fully cook it.

I didn’t say quail should be under cooked…??
confused2

HRCH Washita's Kimber Locked N Loaded
GRHRCH Firefly's Rally The Troops MH
Re: Sandhill Crane Really That Good? [Re: 4Weight] #8917544 09/15/23 03:30 AM
kmon11 Online Shocked
junior
Online Shocked
junior
Originally Posted by 4Weight
I always marinated for 24 hours and grilled hot on mesquite rare to medium rare. If you freeze them, cook them soon. Done right they are delicious.

Vacuumed packed a boned out breast to take to a Friend in Mississippi. I had frozen it in his marinade of choice then vacuumed it up. About 6 months later took it to him. The next year he went to Texas on a crane hunt and has a few more times. Guess he liked it.

lf the saying "Liar, Liar your pants on fire" were true
Mainstream news might be fun to watch
Re: Sandhill Crane Really That Good? [Re: Jgraider] #8917602 09/15/23 12:32 PM
A
angus1956 Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
A
Shot one once, tasted like a big dove. It was good I'd shoot another one.