Print Thread
Lohman Gunsmith in Houston #8907045 08/24/23 01:16 PM
L
LouieTiger Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
L
Avoid at all costs. As a business owner, I couldn't imagine a worse experience in my 45 years than my experience with Brian Lohman and Lohman Gunsmiths.
I brought my wood stock Remington 700 to have pillars added and the action bedded in epoxy. This was a brand new rifle and not an antique, etc. I specifically asked Oliver and the gunsmith (didn't get his name) to bed the action and stop 1" in front of the recoil lug, as this is customary for Rem. 700's and is "the way" the industry does these bedding jobs to ensure the barrel is 100% free-floated. We visited for 30+ minutes about the job and I made sure we were on the same page for scope of work. They both agreed with the work. They quoted $470 for the work and I agreed to the price, without question. Is $470 a fair price? Probably too high, but I thought paying the premium would deliver an exceptional job.

They require 50% down payment to be paid before they will start any work. I paid before I left the shop and was quoted a 2 week turn-around.

I went back 3 weeks later to find out that they had not started on the gun and were waiting on pillars to come in. The pillars are an in stock item at Brownells, etc. and I don't think they ever ordered them. Either way, the communication could have been made from Lohman's to me that they needed more time.