Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Cordless Drill Platforms [Re: Homer Jay] #7521561 05/28/19 03:28 PM
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
Ok I get it. Not much love for Ridgid. Ok I will elaborate a bit. A few decades back I worked as a professional residential electrician. It is pretty much a fact that electricians use Milwaukee and Klein tools. I had three big red tools that I used regularly, recip saw, and big and little drills. We did not have battery powered tools in 1975, so these were big powerful line powered tools. I still have those tools and they still work very hard. Fast forward to the early eighties and I am working tower sites. I supplied all my guys with red battery powered drills to be used mostly as screw guns. They came in a great steel box with a slot for an extra battery. We found out quickly why it was there. So we added spares to their tool boxes. It got to be a problem. Milwaukee wouldn’t warranty a six month old dead battery.

I kept on buying red battery powered tools for decades until Ridgid rolled out the lifetime warranty. I tried a new drill with two batteries. I registered the warranty. When one of the batteries failed to charge I called the store and he said bring in both batteries and the charger. Charger checked good. The bad battery was replaced the other was testing good but replaced because it was dated same as the bad one. The whole process took about five minutes.

That was pretty painless. So I switched.

So, during construction I use Big Red and love it. Just gotta be careful cause that big drill wants to kill you.

After the rough in, I switch to Ridgid. Because of the battery warranty.

There is no other reason. Both very good tools.

Cast

[Linked Image]

I have a short attention spa
Re: Cordless Drill Platforms [Re: Homer Jay] #7521589 05/28/19 04:07 PM
P
PMK Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
P