Print Thread
Questions on talking turkey #650490 03/26/09 06:15 AM
S
Scoop Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
S
Sorry in advance for being so long winded, but I would appreciate some THF input on this.

I'm brand new to this calling stuff. Bought a vest full of calls, listened to the CDs, watched some of the outdoor shows, but still have some questions. I feel like I'm doing a decent job of making the right sounds, but don't always know what sound to make when. Would appreciate some advice from guys who can really talk turkey.

Love that shaker gobbler, but when do you use it, and can you over use it? I got good distant answering gobbles from it, but quit using it when the tom came in fairly close.

When you are first starting your set, how often do you yelp with the box caller/slate vs quiet listening intervals? I felt like I might be overdoing it.

When you have a gobbler on the line, how often do you call? Again, I worry about over-calling.

Are there techniques to coax that bird in that won't come that last 50 yards? Do they just get wise to you, or what? Does too much calling when they get close make them wary?

I am just OK with the mouth diaphram calls so far (some I can use pretty fair, some don't seem to fit my mouth at all). I see how they could be useful to keep hands free, or to double up yelping with a box or slate, and make it sound like multiple hens. Thoughts?

I know it would be best to spend some time hunting with guys that know, but until then, this forum is my next best option.

Doug

Re: Questions on talking turkey [Re: Scoop] #650491 03/26/09 06:38 AM
cbump Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
I am in the same boat as you.

I think the gobble call is pretty much just for located a tom and once you get a response and know where he is you go get set up on him.

Re: Questions on talking turkey [Re: cbump] #650492 03/26/09 08:23 AM
S
Scoop Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
S
Quote: