Print Thread
Remember your first time??? Post it here.... #538946 01/06/09 10:28 PM
S
Smiling Mallard Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
S
Wow! Spring Turkey hunting chatter already on the forum! I love it. IMHO there is no more fun type of hunting. Man, getting a big old gobbler in close and sending a swarm of #5’s at his noggin or skewering him with a 2” Rage….well, it definitely blows my skirt up.

I’ve been spring turkey hunting now for about 12 years and I’ve lost track of how many birds I’ve killed and called in for family and friends but I remember that first bird like it was yesterday. At the time I was doing a lot of duck hunting and one morning before we hit the duck hole I happened upon a hunting show that was about spring turkey hunting. I thought to myself….DAYMMMM that looks like fun. I ordered a Quaker Boy box call and a two reed mouth yelper from Cabela’s that week and started practicing. Before April, I found an ad in the Dallas Morning News advertising turkey hunting for $50/day out in Eastland County. Got all the info from him about how to get to his place, where I could camp, and the pasture I could hunt and off I went. First morning I woke up, dressed and walked about 200 yards toward a creek and just as I stopped it happened……I heard my first gobble….ever. I was shaking by the time I sat down and pulled out my box call and scraped out probably some of the worst sounding yelps ever. Luckily I must have been dealing with some retarded turkeys and 5 minutes later I had two big birds doing the Thunder Chicken shuffle 15 yards in front of me. Somehow I kept the bouncing bead of the Remington 870 on the first birds head and dropped him. I could not stand up.

From that first gobble, I’ve been beyond “hooked”…….I’m a full fledge addict who owns practically every call known to man and has a turkey vest that looks like I’m ready to go to war. As Ted Nugent says on the trailer of his show….”I crave this stuff”.