Print Thread
Introduction and a Question or Two #4943947 01/30/14 07:53 PM
T
Tree_fish Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
T
I have been lurking here for a while and finally decided to introduce myself and start posting here. I am new to hunting and bow hunting particularly. I shot recurve some back when I was I in boy scouts, lord that's been some 25+ years ago. I recently bought a compound bow and am waiting on it to get here in the mail. I have always wanted to bow hunt but never knew anyone that could show me the ropes etc. I still don't know anyone else that bow hunts but I don't want to wait any longer so I have taken it upon myself to learn as much as I can and see what happens from there. I'd like to hear some suggestions about a guide that does educational hunts. I'm no stranger to firing guns but only wish to bow hunt. I believe the only option I have this time of year is predator hunting on private land, is this correct? A day trip on the weekend or a weekend trip would be optimal for me, and If anyone would like join me and share some knowledge and split costs that would be great to! The next question I have is about camo. What pattern camo do you all suggest for the West texas area? I've been looking at max-1 but that pattern seems hard to find? Realtree xtra or ap maybe? That stuff doesn't seem like it would blend in to well in the desert with mesquite cactus and sage everywhere, especially in the wintertime. Between this site and AT I have learned a lot already, my bow should be here in the next day or two and I'm anxious to start practicing!

Re: Introduction and a Question or Two [Re: Tree_fish] #4943953 01/30/14 07:59 PM
1FowlHntR Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
For west Texas try Mossy Oak Brush....Other than that, practice alot, and good luck!! what kind of bow did you get?

"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."