Print Thread
Few Questions for the Experienced Predator Callers #4861714 12/23/13 08:44 PM
L
Loden Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
L
I have a Johnny Stewart Prey Master and the calls last approximately 2 minutes.

1. Should I wait for any amount of time before restarting the call, or call continuously?

2. Does changing to a different sound during the same calling sequence help or hurt the calling? Example: woodpecker to cottontail.

3. How long do you call in a stand before moving on?

4. What is good distance to set up between stands? Is 200 yards enough in thick cover?

5. Do you start off high or low volume, and how long to call before changing the volume?

We did call in a bobcat this morning within the 1st ten minutes, and my son rolled it with 00 buckshot at about 30 yards in the chest, but it ran off and we couldn't find any blood except for where it was rolling around after the shot. I figured #4 buck would be better. We looked for a long time and never found the cat or any more blood.

Texas CHL Instructor
TCLEOSE Firearms Instructor
Cherokee County 4-H Clay Crushers Coach
Master Mason - Euclid Lodge #45

"Perfect practice makes perfect"
Re: Few Questions for the Experienced Predator Callers [Re: Loden] #4862094 12/23/13 11:51 PM
Steve
Steve
1. Call continuously

2. Doesn't hurt, sometimes it's required

3. 30 minutes for coyotes, up to an hour if I think I could call in a cat.

4. 200yds is ok if the cover is thick

5. Start low, low enough to where you can barely hear it yourself and raise the volume about every 5 minutes.

Chupa

Re: Few Questions for the Experienced Predator Callers [Re: Loden] #4862272 12/24/13 01:11 AM
C
Clay Reid Offline
Tracker
Tracker
C