Page 1 of 2 1 2
Non Hunters opinions. #4830202 12/12/13 05:16 AM
T
themoonrulz Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
T
This was brought up on another forum that is not hunting related. The conservation started when a person informed the forum about a problem he was having with raccoon's attacking his chickens. He suggested that he would take matters into his own hands with his trusty rifle. A lot of people responded by calling this person a "monster" and a pitiful human being. A few "pro hunters" supported him and one anonymous person had this to say:

"I am a hunter and I am a medical professional. I have killed deer and I have seen people pass while working at a skilled nursing facility. I can assure you that no hunter takes pride on "killing things". As a person I have an overwhelming sense of sadness when I see something expire, human or animal. I do not hunt for the thrill of the kill. I hunt for the thrill of the experience. There is absolutely no way that I can relay what it feels like to be stationed in a remote location, for many hours and waiting on or stalking an animal that you are about to harvest. I've sat in the freezing cold for hours only accompanied by my thoughts and reflections and I did not "kill" anything. I've sat under a huge cedar tree in a man made deer stand and I've watched the sunset and the wind blow. I've reminisced about my childhood and great memories absent distractions like cell phones or cars. I have practiced patience, determination and persistence for days which all comes down to a single moment. The moment you see an animal in your sights and realize that magnitude of the decision you're about to make. The moment where ethical judgement comes into play and your assure yourself that you can make an ethical shot. The moment you assess the animal and confirm that this is in fact a mature animal and not a juvenile. After all this you take a good shot and the animal expires in seconds. I usually take a moment before I walk up to the