Forums46
Topics538,279
Posts9,735,214
Members87,078
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 6 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Re: What do you guys think? (graphic/blood) [Re: songdogslayer] #3823675 12/07/12 04:19 AM
B
BOONER Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
B
Originally Posted By: songdogslayer
[quote=Jangle]It was a kill by rifle, what's going on with his one eye?
I would say a buzzard picked it out

LOL. That would be one hell of a shot. Right in the eye with no damage any where else.

Re: What do you guys think? (graphic/blood) [Re: agsellers04] #3823789 12/07/12 04:55 AM
J
JDShellnut Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
J
Originally Posted By: agsellers04
Originally Posted By: adam_p
Was this deer already injured? Cause this little ole bobcat sure took it down. By itself.

I never said a coyote or a bobcat couldn't take down a deer! I said that many more deer are killed by automobiles and hunters than by predation in Texas and that is a simple fact! I'm a wildlife biologist I think I may know a thing or two about deer.

I won't disagree with that, but what part of this slide show indicates that the deer was injured before the coyotes got to him?
http://www.deeranddeerhunting.com/coyote-kill-240?pid=155

Re: What do you guys think? (graphic/blood) [Re: ptso308me] #3823793 12/07/12 04:56 AM
E
Enter Standman Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
E
If you are telling me that there is no way that this buck was shot.by a hunter, and that it is too far from a public road to be struck by a vehicle, then the next most likely explanation for this deer's death is exhaustion due to rutting activity. Not sure a predator could have run this deer to.death because with equipment like that, he wouldn't run; not to mention the elevated testosterone levels.

Honestly, no one has enough information to say definitively what killed him, so let's just rule out what we can and play the %'s.

Re: What do you guys think? (graphic/blood) [Re: JDShellnut] #3823832 12/07/12 05:29 AM