Print Thread
Hope this weekend is better than last... #3676151 10/20/12 05:19 AM
K
kelley350x Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
K
This is my first year to be on a deer lease (and first year bow hunting)I am hunting a small 130 acre lease with my brother and a friend.

my buddy has been on this lease for many years, and has always had good luck..
After a month or so of watching a little mangled up 8 point eat all of my corn at the first location I picked I ended up leaving my feeder and one camera at that location and moving back and setting another up on a spot hat is much harder to get to...

The first night the camera was out I got pics of a nice 10 point and a few does.. after that I only got the does pics.. Last Saturday Morning I got up in my tree about 5:30 and went ahead and let out a little grunt call. Within seconds I had sevaral deer under my stand. It was too dark to make out what htey were but right about the time I could make out two bucks something spooked them and both scattered. A few hours later two does and a fawn. I was trying to make out what does the fawn was with but couldnt decide so I didnt shoot either.

Saturday evening was pretty boring until right after sunset the two bucks showed back up right under my feet. again it was too dark to see what they were or to make a clean shot so I wanted in my climber for about 30 minutes and after I realized they were not leaving any time soon I flipped on my streamlight so I could get a good look at them. they scattered pretty quick but it was the same 10 point and what looked to be a 8 point.

Sunday morning I was running late and didnt get in my stand until right at sunrise. I didnt expect to see anything but I went ahead and turned my stand 90° on the tree just so I could see in more of the direction they came from the previous morning and what way they ran the night before...