Print Thread
.50 Beowulf accuracy question #3578613 09/17/12 02:37 PM
F
folsom Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
F
I finally put an optic on my Beowulf I chose the luepold 1-4x with the pig plex reticle. I mounted it with the Burris perp mounts that I laped. Now in all honesty it's my first time using an optic setup like this and first time shooting this riffle for accuracy purposes. After lapping and mounting the scope i shot it at a 60 yard target to get it on paper and get some groups going. After that we moved it out to 100 yards and it seemed the best I could get it to group was about 4 inch or fist sized groups. I was shooting factory AA 334 jhp. My question Is this considered decent groups at that yardage for this setup? In all we shot about 40 rounds so I know I need more trigger time with this rig but Ive been curious what others would expect out of this set up?
Oh and we shot it out of a lead sled to help reduce recoil for this process.

Re: .50 Beowulf accuracy question [Re: folsom] #3580670 09/18/12 12:33 AM
T
Texas Heat Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
T
Buddy of mine has one, I'm sure he will chime in on this. If I remember correctly his was a little all over the place with factory ammo so he reloads and it definitely brought his groups in tighter.

Love the Beowulf, definitely a hog slayer and attention getter at the range.

Re: .50 Beowulf accuracy question [Re: Texas Heat] #3581421 09/18/12 03:07 AM
F
fonzo Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
F