Print Thread
Hunting dog #3546000 09/06/12 02:03 AM
K
kethri2 Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
K
I have a lab I bought from a trainer. She is awesome with dummies but she doesn't hunt with her nose.. Found that out when I run blinds with dove. Makes me nervous she doesn't have a good nose. I am new to training duck dogs so any help to get her to hunt with her nose and not sight would be great. Thanks

Last edited by kethri2; 09/06/12 02:21 AM.
Re: Hunting dog [Re: kethri2] #3546210 09/06/12 02:36 AM
Jeff Elder Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
Sounds like she is over handled. Let her be a dog for a bit. I see what your talking about a lot with field trial and hunt test dogs people bring out when they hunt with me.

North central TX duck and dove hunts
www.silvercreekguideservice.com

Cell 817-597-0781
Re: Hunting dog [Re: Jeff Elder] #3546271 09/06/12 02:47 AM
K
kethri2 Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
K
Exactly. ....and I need her as a duck dog. She circles around 3 times then looks at me or will come back to me at heal. What can I do to get her to hunt it up. Go in circles. My bro n law has a dog that cant handle well but has a great nose and finds everything. She handles well just doesnt hunt with nose.

Re: Hunting dog [Re: kethri2] #3546582 09/06/12 04:04 AM
IronSpikeLabs Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
Some fans of field trial dogs may take exception to this, but I see a lack of olfactory sense or efficient use of it more often in field trial lines than others. Since lining, speed and handling are key to success for these dogs, I attribute it to either the training or (since I see it often in pups, as well), selective breeding for bloodlines where the nose "doesn't get in the way." It's almost as if the nose has been bred out of them so they will line and handle better.