Print Thread
Quail "Surrogator" #3506850 08/24/12 02:38 PM
E
Eland Slayer Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
E
Have any of you had experience using the "Traditional Surrogator" from Wildlife Management Technologies?

Traditional Surrogator

If so, what are your opinions of it, and did it work well?

Also, have any of you used it in East Texas? We are looking at possibly purchasing one for our property in Huntsville. Any info (good or bad) would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Hunt Report - South Africa 2022

Wade Abadie - Wild Shot Photography
Website | Facebook | Instagram
Re: Quail "Surrogator" [Re: Eland Slayer] #3506888 08/24/12 02:53 PM
R
Raymond07 Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
R
I have no experience with them myself, however my thought is that if the habitat deteriorated to the point that it could no longer support quail, simply adding a surrogator will not do the trick. You will have to make a serious overhaul to the land before I would waste the time on it, and even once you have re-established the habitat it will be very hard.

Re: Quail "Surrogator" [Re: Raymond07] #3506930 08/24/12 03:09 PM
E
Eland Slayer Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
E
Originally Posted By: Raymond07
I have no experience with them myself, however my thought is that if the habitat deteriorated to the point that it could no longer support quail, simply adding a surrogator will not do the trick. You will have to make a serious overhaul to the land before I would waste the time on it, and even once you have re-established the habitat it will be very hard.

Well....in the case of east Texas, I believe you are looking at it the wrong way. There are many other factors that have contributed to not having quail besides habitat deterioration. This includes: land fragmentation, over-hunting, timber harvest, etc...