Page 1 of 2 1 2
Handgun Wounding Factors and Effectiveness #3215378 05/10/12 02:12 AM
T
tx outlaw Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
T
DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert on this subject by any means. I have never shot anyone, and I hope I never have to. However, I do a lot of reading, as the subject of self-defense, especially self-defense handguns, is very interesting to me.

Recently I have seen a number of threads on here talking about various handgun calibers for daily carry and self-defense. I would like to get this information out in order to hopefully dispel any myths and answer some questions regarding the subject of self-defense handgun calibers. It is my understanding that some folks are under the impression that they need to carry a .45 or other large caliber round for self-defense, and that something like a 9mm or .380 is insufficient. This is simply not the case.

If you are interested in this topic I would strongly urge you to read and periodically re-read, "Handgun Wounding Factors and Effectiveness" by Urey Patrick of the FBI Firearms Training Unit, as this remains the single best discussion of the wound ballistic requirements of handguns used for self-defense. It is available at: http://www.firearmstactical.com/hwfe.htm .

Keeping in mind that handguns generally offer poor incapacitation potential, and bullets with effective terminal performance are available in all of the most commonly used duty pistol calibers -- pick the one that you shoot most accurately, that is most reliable in the type of pistol you choose, and best suits your likely engagement scenarios.

The keys are:
- Invest in competent, thorough initial training and then maintain skills with regular ongoing practice
- Acquire a reliable and durable weapon system
- Purchase a consistent, robust performing self-defense load in sufficient quantities then STOP worrying about the nuances of handgun ammunition terminal performance.