Print Thread
Decoy setup..humbling experience #3191777 04/29/12 12:06 AM
T
TijuanaTom Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
T
Let me start off saying this is my first year to chase turkeys and i had a question abot decoy set up.

I went out friday morning and was working a couple of birds with no decoys. They came into my calling looking for the hen
(me) got close enough shot the biggest one...no big deal. I was pumped to get em.

Fast forward to this morning.. I set up a hen and jake decoy. I'm calling all morning not hereing a darn thing. I give it one more series of yelps and i bout had my head goblled off. Out of nowhere this turkey shows up about 60 yds away. I'm thinking he was coming in all morning but just silent. SO he finally breaks through the tree line and he is in full strut. It was a thing of beauty and he was a hoss. Looked like his beard almost drug the dang ground. ANyway he gets to about 50 yds take a good look at my decoy setup and that was all she wrote. Puts his feathers back in and slowly walks away.

We talked back and fourth for another 25 min or so but he steadily kept walking away.

SO what gives? Was my choice in set up worng, do my decoy suck... it just kind of stumped me.

This was my 3rd hunt ever as a self taught turkey chaser. The first 2 i connected and thought, "well heck i don't know what all the fuss is about"

This was a humbling experience to say the least.

Re: Decoy setup..humbling experience [Re: TijuanaTom] #3192051 04/29/12 03:06 AM
C
CenTexBenelli Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
C
I dont have much experience using decoys but

First what type of decoys do you have? I dont think it matters if he ( Tom is hot enough )

Second were you in direct line with the decoys ( being was he on the opposite side from you to were he could have seen you )