Forums46
Topics538,118
Posts9,733,173
Members87,069
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Hunting opportunities for non tx resident military personnel #3195536 05/01/12 01:33 AM
A
amcvicars Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
A
Hey guys,
I'm a Nevada resident and am going to be in San Angelo area during hunting season and am really interested in doing some hunting while I am in TX. How does TX work the hunting? For big game (white tail, etc) is there a draw? Being stationed there will I have to purchase non-resident license? What is the public land access like around there? Anything else good and fun to hunt around there? I've heard about hog hunting in TX and that sounds like fun, anything else? Thanks for your help and info in advance.

Re: Hunting opportunities for non tx resident military personnel [Re: amcvicars] #3195561 05/01/12 01:42 AM
S
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi
Obie Juan Kenobi
S
welcome Hunting will be much different here than what you are accustomed to in the past. Texas is 97% or more private land so access for the most part is by leasing land from a landowner to hunt. There is some public land in that area but hunted hard and not much of it from what I have heard. TPWD does there annual draw in the early fall starting in Sept with mid August deadline to put in for draw hunts on State Park lands for all big game species in the state.

Are idiots multiplying faster than normal people?[Linked Image]
Re: Hunting opportunities for non tx resident military personnel [Re: amcvicars] #3195620 05/01/12 02:01 AM
A
amcvicars Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
A