Forums46
Topics538,128
Posts9,733,269
Members87,070
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Axis vs. Whitetail competition... [Re: Eland Slayer] #3194820 04/30/12 08:56 PM
E
Eland Slayer Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
E
Okay guys.....

I apologize if I sounded like a prick. I just get aggravated when people insist on preaching the "right way" to do things in regards to animal densities, ratios, carrying capacity, etc...

I have lots of experience on the subject. I have worked on ranches with high animal densities (much higher than what I'm talking about in my original post). I have more real life experience with this stuff than a lot of the "professionals" do. Bottom line is there is more than one way to skin a cat....and low animal density is NOT the only way to do it.

I simply asked about Axis vs. Whitetail competition.....I did not ask for people's approval or opinions on running that number of animals on the property. I would just like to stay on topic.

But anyways....

If this happens the way I hope, and we are able to purchase the additional acreage....we will likely just focus on the Whitetail and gradually introduce the Axis. If we notice any significant negative impact, we will simply kill off the Axis and forget about them.

Hunt Report - South Africa 2022

Wade Abadie - Wild Shot Photography
Website | Facebook | Instagram
Re: Axis vs. Whitetail competition... [Re: Eland Slayer] #3194836 04/30/12 09:01 PM
T
Txnrog Offline
Tracker
Tracker
T
Sounds like you're pretty set on the numbers you want to have. You will run into some other issues as others have mentioned, one we have seen in our 20 acre pens where the deer are heavily feed dependant is you will start to get some foundering (long hooves), and they will eventually go lame and die if you can't catch and cut them.