Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Fried Turkey #2735818 11/09/11 07:18 PM
209HUNTER Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
I have never done this before so I need suggestions. How long do y'all cook it per lb and at what temp? Rub, injection, or both and what kind?

The devil made me do it the first time, the second time I did it on my own
Re: Fried Turkey [Re: 209HUNTER] #2735983 11/09/11 08:00 PM
H
Hooligan Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
H
never done it myself but all I know is make sure it is fully thawed!! Check out youtube, some funny videos about turkey frying accidents.

Militavi Non Sine Gloria
Re: Fried Turkey [Re: Hooligan] #2738171 11/10/11 03:55 AM
Gumbeaux Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
It's easy and perfectly safe if you have some common sense. I have done 4-5 turkeys a year for the past 12 years or so with no issues whatsoever.

I like to use Creole Butter to inject it and put Slap Ya Mama all over it. Leave it out of the fridge for a bit to warm up before you put it in the oil. Don't put it in frozen of course.

Use peanut oil (vegetable oil has too low a flash point and cottonseed oil leaves a district flavor I don't like) and heat it to about 375. Get your bird on the rack, kill your fire, and drop the bird in. That will help prevent a flare up. When the oil settles, fire it back up and hold at 350 for 3.5 min per pound.

When you get ready to pull it out, kill your fire first.

Don't do it on a wooden deck or on any concrete that you don't want stained.

Fried turkey is great, and still moist when you have it as leftovers.

[Linked Image]
Re: Fried Turkey [Re: 209HUNTER] #2747327 11/13/11 02:24 PM
S
Scurvy Dog Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
S
Make sure the turkey is completely thawed! Even if a little bit is frozen it will explode. Trust me! texas

Re: Fried Turkey [Re: Scurvy Dog] #2750567 11/14/11 03:49 PM
donswin Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
Been at it since '87 when I had some at relatives in So. Louisiana.