Print Thread
Hearing Damage #2666515 10/16/11 02:19 PM
D
dieselgeek Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
D
So, I always wear ear pro. Most of the time it’s the Surefires and I have the plugs in or it’s the Howard electronic muffs.
I shoot mostly bolt guns, and I’m around a lot of bolt guns when I do shoot it. Then I’m under a tin roof which really can make things loud. I feel the concussion more than I feel anything to my ears. Yesterday I started shooting around 8am and finished up ( after breaks and lunch and dicking around) around 5PM. I noticed after taking my ear pro out and talking to people, it sounds like they are talking to me though a storm drain for a bit. This goes away, but I’m not sure if my ears are normalizing or if I’m sustaining hearing damage. Last year I shot 3 rounds w/o ear pro with my braked .308 I felt a real compression for a few days and then it normalized. The issue I’m having now is nothing like that. I just want to make sure I have enough ear protection so I figured I’d see how others feel shooting in different environments.

Re: Hearing Damage [Re: dieselgeek] #2666539 10/16/11 02:30 PM
D
DallasShootingSupplies Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
D
With a brake on, your adding 5-10 more decibels at least. They say with a brake you need to wear plugs under your muffs. Just muffs you're still permanently damaging your ears. Good Read here

http://www.chuckhawks.com/muzzle_brakes.htm

Last edited by DallasShootingSupplies; 10/16/11 02:31 PM.

www.class3machining.com
Barrel Threading
50k+ barrels done. Zero Baffle Strikes
www.facebook.com/barrelthreading
www.instagram.com/class_3_machining/
Recommended by Silencerco, Capitol Armory, Hansohn Brothers, Gemtech, Ally Outfitters, The Firearm Blog etc
Re: Hearing Damage [Re: DallasShootingSupplies] #2666545 10/16/11 02:36 PM
H
helomech Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
H