Page 1 of 2 1 2
Reduced Recoil Question #212203 09/19/07 02:51 AM
B
Bullcreek48 Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
B
I started using the reduced recoil shells in my 30-06 a couple of years ago, and have noticed that they don't seem to pattern well. Also, they don't seem to kill like I remember my old 30-06 shells did. I've been using a 30-06 for about 15 years. I shot a buck at about 70 yards year before last, he was quartering towards me slightly. The bullet struck just behind the shoulder which caused it to exit just in front of the hind quarters. Now normally this would have been a fatal wound even with such poor shot placement and the deer would have died rather quickly. Instead the deer ran for some 500 yards and I didn't find it until the next day. Last year I shot a buck at about 90 yards broadside right behind the shoulder and the although the deer didn't run very far, I had to shoot it again 2 more times, one shot in the neck(10 yards) that didn't kill the deer, and finally a fatal chest shot at 10 yards that finally killed the buck. I must be completely honest, I am not nor have ever been accused of being a really good shot, but I wonder if the 125 gr. has anything to do with my misery with the last two deer, or just coincidence. I have hunted for 25+ years, so I am not new to shooting, but just seems quirky to me. I really like the reduced recoil, but not to the extent of losing deer. Anybody else have any similar results with reduced recoil?

Re: Reduced Recoil Question [Re: Bullcreek48] #212204 09/19/07 11:56 AM
B
Bitmap Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
B
What brand of reduced recoil ammo are you using?

My son used Remington Managed Recoil .30-30 to shoot a deer last year. One round broadside through the ribs at a measured 32 yards. The bullet went between the ribs on both sides and exited. The deer flinched, stood looking around for about 5 seconds and fell over dead. Both lungs were trashed. The .30-30 load has a 125gr Corelokt SP at a nominal 2175fps.