Print Thread
calling on a full moon? #2121100 02/16/11 03:15 AM
C
cannonball Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
C
im still kinda new to varmint calling, dos a full moon hurt or help you most of the time? i have a hunt planned for this weekend with some close freinds that have never shot yotes before would love to see the boys get a few.

Re: calling on a full moon? [Re: cannonball] #2121139 02/16/11 03:24 AM
J
Jimbo Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
J
Anything that helps you see is a good thing. It also helps the critters, but as for enjoyment, give me a full moon any time over total darkness.

Thursday at 12:45 PM
Once i learned that i didn't "NEED" to kill something, and that if i did kill something all the fun stopped and work began, i was a much better hunter.
Re: calling on a full moon? [Re: Jimbo] #2121210 02/16/11 03:46 AM
B
bscdd Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
B
Full moon gives the animal the advantage. You can see better so just think what it does for their sight. Also, when the night is bright there seems to be less movement during the daylight hours.

Re: calling on a full moon? [Re: bscdd] #2121281 02/16/11 04:09 AM
M
MaggieMTx Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
M
Never had luck on a full moon. Varmint contests are scheduled so there isn't a full moon also. They usually aren't out as much when its a full moon, never had luck calling with one.

Re: calling on a full moon? [Re: cannonball] #2121285 02/16/11 04:10 AM
B
Brother in-law Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
B
Just make sure there is some darkness to your back. Hunting cover and not wide open might help to. If you have a chance to go I would even though its not the best.

Re: calling on a full moon? [Re: Brother in-law] #2121328 02/16/11 04:22 AM
C
cleatas Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
C
Originally Posted By: Brother in-law