Print Thread
Yep, Turns Out I Missed - Kinda #1896954 12/07/10 07:39 AM
T
TheHag Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
T
After I decided to take that nice 10 pointer I posted on here a while back, he has never shown up again. The neighbors must have gotten him. But, that's hindsight.

I got a few pictures of this deer and what turns out to be his daddy on my game camera. The one I studied in my pictures appeared to be a 160 class buck with these 3 wierd points on the end. I didn't realize there were actually 2 different bucks with this wierd characteristic. This buck came in Saturday and I took a shot at him. The story to follow..... But, it turns out this is not the one in my pictures that I wanted so badly. He doesn't have a kicker on the back of his base, like the big one in my pictures. Plus, his wierd point on the end of the main beam is straight out. The one in the pictures turns down. So, his 160 class daddy is still out there running around.

While watching this buck, I had to hold myself back from shooting a super nice 8 pointer with awesome mass and spread. But, I noticed his G2's bladed out and each had the start of forks on both of them. His main beams bladed out and the start of a G4 on both sides. Also, he had the start of two drop tines. They were both about an inch long. He's 4 1/2 years old and will be a super buck next year. So, despite his being at 12 yards for over 30 minutes, I held off of him so he could live one more year.