Page 1 of 31 1 2 3 30 31
Dadgum ARs!!! #1829374 11/13/10 02:58 AM
H
HillbillyDeluxe Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
H
Haven't been on a lease the last couple of years so this is my first year under ARs.....and NOT looking to start a civil war here either.

Was able to sneak away this afternoon and get an evening hunt in after the front blew through. Fortunate to be about 100 miles from the lease. About an hour before dark, a brute of a buck walked out from behind and about 60 yards right of my stand eyeing a couple of does in the field in front of me. This guy was very big bodied and very mature, easily 5.5 or older. Rack was ten points and VERY tall with ridiculous G2s and heavy antlered.....really cool buck I'd be proud to put on my wall. I was getting set to possibly take a shot when he turned his head and I realized how narrow he was.....ARs immediately popped into my mind. I was able to watch him for about 5 minutes with multiple chances at broadside shots, but just couldn't commit not being sure if he would make it. He eventually wandered off and I missed my chance.

After getting home, I measured a couple of deer and think he'll make it, but I still can't be positive as he never extended his ears, though I think he's well inside them.

Here's my dilemma/problem with this scenario.....here's a mature buck who I estimate in the low to mid 130s (and that's with a narrow rack and small brows) that is possibly not legal who ain't getting any wider ever. I've been hunting deer for quite a few years, and he would have been a nice addition to my wall AND would have been a good cull buck under ANY management plan I've ever been associated with. We can't shoot him even though he's reached his potential, yet he will survive to spread the same genetics to future generations of deer. Doesn't this defeat the very purpose behind antler restrictions?

Maybe I'm missing something, but this appears to be beyond ridiculous.