Page 1 of 2 1 2
Question for the trainers... #1652143 09/07/10 09:40 PM
N
nogeese Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
N
Ok, I will ask this as gingerly as possible, and please! dont get all crazy... Just be honest...

So you train dogs all the time it is a living and you love it... how do you keep the joy and respect/love for the dogs over all that time, do they begin to all seem like "just dogs" or do you have a unique bond to each pup? Do you feel sorrow when you hear of one passing? do you look forward to hearing about the pups that have been through your prograhm? I guess do the dogs begin to loose their individuality? (sp)

For example, I was a scuba instructor in College I got to dive some of the greatest places in the world but after awhile it just got to be work, and one day I went on a dive had a good time and NEVER got back into the water (that was about 20 years ago)

Re: Question for the trainers... [Re: nogeese] #1652361 09/07/10 10:42 PM
E
EasTexHunterRetriever Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
E
I can't honestly say I get a special bond with every dog that I work with. Every dog is different, some just like having a job to do and others thrive off the relationship with the handler. I enjoy seeing all the different personalities and the strengths and weaknesses in almost every dog. The ones I bond with are a blast and I always want to know how they are doing once they've left. It's always such a thrill when folks send pics and let us know how the dogs are working for them - so when put in that respect they are unique.

Originally Posted By: TG37

And the fact of the matter is, is no matter what level your dog is trained to or not trained to, your gonna take them home, feed them, and their gonna lay on the floor and lick their butt.

Re: Question for the trainers... [Re: nogeese] #1652363 09/07/10 10:43 PM
A
Angie B Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
A