Print Thread
Beginner Reloading Question #1148849 01/04/10 10:26 PM
D
DuckCrazy Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
D
I am considering taking up reloading as a hobby and to save some money on shells. First question is can you save any money reloading? and second how much out of pocket expense would I be looking at to get started? is there any paticular brand that is better for beginners. I have a 270WSM and a 7mm-08.

I'll hit ya so hard you'll have to clear your throat to fart! Roy D Mercer.
Re: Beginner Reloading Question [Re: DuckCrazy] #1148855 01/04/10 10:28 PM
T
timbertoes Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
T
not likely to save any money..unless you shoot an awful lot!

but it's a good hobby smile

Forum says "Veteran Tracker". I could not track a garbage truck into a fireworks factory.
Re: Beginner Reloading Question [Re: DuckCrazy] #1148885 01/04/10 10:37 PM
J.G. Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
I just started last year, so I'm by no means an expert. I don't know how much I've spent because I bought equipment over a span of several months and I'm still not done. I read reviews on all the different components it takes to get the job done so that I would have the best of each. Eventually the equipment will pay for itself, but it hasn't for me as of yet. As far as cheaper the only example I can give you is:

I loaded once fired brass with Sierra Match King 168gr. .308 with 41.5gr. of H4895 and Winchester LR primer. My total cost for a box of 20 rounds was $14. I saw some Federal factory loads with the same Sierra bullets for $50 at Gander Mountain, and for $35 at Academy.

Yes in the long run it will save you money if you shoot enough.
But you have to go in thinking more about getting accurate ammo, that you made, that is consistant more than saving money.

[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: Beginner Reloading Question [Re: J.G.] #1149473 01/05/10 02:35 AM
P
psycho0819 Offline