Page 1 of 2 1 2
I guess I am gonna keep him! #1106614 12/15/09 04:34 AM
P
ProximoMetalica Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
P
We found a very nice pure breed lab the other day on the road side. He almost got hit by several vehicles, so we pulled over and decided to pick the dog up. There were not neighbor hoods around and I cannot imagine someone hunting in the area. The dog was wearing a shock collar with a red blinking light on it when we found him.

So, I took the dog home. We placed several "Found Dog" flyers at conveinience stores in the area. I have not gotten any call on him and I have decided to keep him unless I get a call anytime soon. I am very sorry that this dog will not be going back to his original owner, but he will have a great home with me and he will learn to retrieve too.

He is very calm, loves people and he responds fairly well to basic commands. He will sit, stay and come and we are working on heel. I have some knowledge of basic training with retrievers, but it has been a long time since I have done it.

I have not tried any kind of fetch training at the moment. I figure we have to get the basics down before we can do anything else. I want to whistle train him next.

The vet says he is about 1.5 years old and in very good health.

What should I do next? He seems very intellegent and I am anxious to see what he can do? Is he too old?

Re: I guess I am gonna keep him! [Re: ProximoMetalica] #1106625 12/15/09 04:41 AM
F
FowlDreams Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
F
it sounds like he possibly could have dumped off by his owner esp. since you haven't gotten a call yet and he had an e collar on him. Good luck I hope he turns out well for you.

Silver Creek Guide Service 817-597-0781

Instagram: @fowldreams @silvercreekguideservice @fdwc_calls
Re: I guess I am gonna keep him! [Re: FowlDreams] #1106636 12/15/09 04:46 AM
P
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
P
Originally Posted By: FowlDreams