Texas Hunting Forum

Question about Axis Bucks??

Posted By: BowHunterMAC

Question about Axis Bucks?? - 01/05/08 05:12 AM

What is a way I can judge an axis bucks size on the hoof? Is there a easy way to guestimate main beam length that is fairly accurate? I am going on a hunt this week and want to bag a nice trophy and would like 35 inches or better...just wondering if there is an easy way to distinguish between a 25 - 30 incher and big boy? any info would be helpful.

Posted By: Brother in-law

Re: Question about Axis Bucks?? - 01/06/08 10:12 PM

Im no expert but I believe 30" is the par line. I hunt them free range and they are hard to judge. 28-31 look real close together! and they get some ground shrinkage. 35 is enormous. The is a dude that specializes in axis in Florida I have emailed him befor and he answeed my questions.

Posted By: HunterTed

Re: Question about Axis Bucks?? - 01/07/08 12:19 AM

Where you going for Axis? I am booked at Baker 3 ranch in July for Axis and Blackbuck.

Posted By: txtrophy85

Re: Question about Axis Bucks?? - 01/07/08 12:59 AM

a 25 in axis looks fairly tall, but a 30 in axis will look huge. they are the hardest exotic to judge, and they all get ground shrinkage.

study alot of pictures before your hunt

Posted By: OldChunkOfCoal

Re: Question about Axis Bucks?? - 01/14/08 08:40 PM

I've got the same issue. We have a bunch of free range axis. I'd like to take a big buck, but I want to make sure he's a wall hanger.

What would you say is the cutoff for a wall hanger? 30 inches?

Where would you look at pictures to judge?

Re: Question about Axis Bucks?? - 01/14/08 08:49 PM

a 30 in is the benchmark for a trophy, but depending on how the antlers are lay'd out, a 26 or 27 inch deer is fine to mount.

Posted By: Brother in-law

Re: Question about Axis Bucks?? - 01/14/08 08:58 PM

Quote:

a 30 in is the benchmark for a trophy, but depending on how the antlers are lay'd out, a 26 or 27 inch deer is fine to mount.

agreed