Texas Hunting Forum

New to Hog Hunting have some questions

Posted By: Cypress Legend

New to Hog Hunting have some questions - 04/05/11 07:14 PM

I Have a Lake house on Sam Rayburn right outside of hunnington tx. We have 29 Acres with 8 of it on the water, I have a feeder that goes off twice a day with corn and i have plenty of does on it but no hogs. I have made some soured corn a few times and had no success to find the hogs, most of my land is heavily wooded and i have scene a bunch of ruts on the water front. What would be my best bet for finding some hogs around a lake. Once again i am new to hunting in general, i just fish.

Posted By: TonyLama

Re: New to Hog Hunting have some questions - 04/05/11 07:19 PM

Leave the feeder out they will come

Re: New to Hog Hunting have some questions - 04/05/11 07:29 PM

I have had the feeder out for about 3 months now, I have not scene any ruts around the feeder, but i do have about 20 deer that sit and wait for the feeder

Posted By: 700X

Re: New to Hog Hunting have some questions - 04/05/11 08:49 PM

Simple solution -

Take a pickle bucket ,fill it full of corn , add 1 gallon of milk,add 2 boxes of grape jello,let it sit for a week.Pour it around the spot you want to hunt them - they will show ,just remember that Hogs are like Gypsies - they are always on the move.You may see them for a week straight and then not see them again for another 3 weeks.

Re: New to Hog Hunting have some questions - 04/05/11 08:55 PM

What i used last time was a 5 gallon bucket 3/4 full of corn, a six pack of beer, a pouch of strawberry cool aid a pouch of grape cool aid and some milk. filled it with water and let it sit 2 weeks and added a little diesel. Put it on the ground and nothing happened. My neighbors killed a big 300+ a couple months ago but i have nothing. I guess they will show up some time. Should i try to pour it on the sand right next to the lake?

Posted By: 700X