Texas Hunting Forum

calling help

Posted By: mikeYZ250

calling help - 03/06/10 04:39 PM

I have killed numerous coyotes on my place most if not all have been from just seeing them and having a rifle ready, but me and some buddies have had a lot of trouble calling them in. We have tried hand calls, and electronic calls. I have called one bobcat in with a hand call but that is it. Called it with a Weems wildcall for fox. wolves, and cats. I have a Johnny Stewart prey master wireless. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I wouldn't mind it if maybe someone would like to come out and hunt maybe I could learn something.

Posted By: twiztedlemon

Re: calling help - 03/06/10 05:39 PM

Yotes are very weary and smart animals. Their hearing and smell play a huge part in their survival. Give us a better idea of how you set up and details so we can help you out.

Posted By: sportsman

Re: calling help - 03/06/10 05:41 PM

How big is the property? Maybe your getting winded/seen before you see them?

Re: calling help - 03/06/10 06:04 PM

198 acres, we setup in a few different places usually by a group of trees down wind from a large open area call for a few minutes and wait then call again usually sit in one spot for about 20 min. We have hunted in the day time once but usually at night right after sunset till about 10:30 or so. Is it better to hunt when the moon is almost full and bright or when it more overcast, and not a full almost full moon? We walk from spot to spot not with in 300 yards from previous spot.

Posted By: tannerlst

Re: calling help - 03/06/10 11:07 PM

no moon at all the better.. sounds like your doing the right things to me. scan fast with the light and spot them before they spot you at night

Re: calling help - 03/07/10 12:21 AM

Yeah we have been going on a very bright night, so I will try going on a darker night, thanks

Posted By: Texas Proud

Re: calling help - 03/07/10 03:51 AM