Texas Hunting Forum

Station 8 shot…

Posted By: Guy

Station 8 shot… - 11/13/23 01:20 PM

Ever shoot skeet? Station 8 is the last station, you stand in the middle, clay is shot right at you over your head, by far the hardest station. That was this teal, it was a station 8 shot. That is #4 size pellet, why people use bigger pellets on ducks I have no idea.

[Linked Image]
Posted By: P_102

Re: Station 8 shot… - 11/13/23 02:00 PM

On 8: Hold point should be above and outside (right for high house, left for low) the window. When target appears raise gun, cover target, pull trigger, keep swinging. There is an old saying: If you can see the target when you pull the trigger, you missed. It’s fast but once you get used to it it’s actually one of the easier targets.
Posted By: kmon11

Re: Station 8 shot… - 11/13/23 03:14 PM

Station 8 was described to me when I started shooting skeet as a knee jerk shot and it is a reactionary shot, especially when shot with gun not mounted which can be done.

Guy I haven't shot a duck that way and close but reaction shot on a dove one afternoon, what was left of it I think landed at least twice as far from me as the dove. OOPS
Posted By: Smokey Bear

Re: Station 8 shot… - 11/13/23 03:30 PM

Made a pillow.
Posted By: outfitter1

Re: Station 8 shot… - 11/14/23 04:02 PM

I had a buddy who on his first duck hunt shooting a12ga sxs with 2 triggers pulled both with a gadwall right in front at about 20 feet hit him square, needless to say he was covered in guts, blood and meat for the rest of the hunt.,
Posted By: BarneyWho

Re: Station 8 shot… - 11/15/23 08:37 PM

Originally Posted by Guy
That is #4 size pellet, why people use bigger pellets on ducks I have no idea.

Not everyone is a duck hunting savant such as yourself, Guy!

Re: Station 8 shot… - 11/16/23 01:15 AM

Originally Posted by Guy

When geese are in the mix.
Posted By: dawgkllr

Re: Station 8 shot… - 11/16/23 01:22 PM

Originally Posted by BarneyWho
Originally Posted by Guy