Texas Hunting Forum

Duck Hunting Question

Posted By: TXGH

Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 04:04 AM

Hey all I forgot to ask this during the season.

I caught the tail end (last weekend of the season) and I ran into a group of two guys who were shooting ducks as they were still on the water. I thought this was illegal in Texas? But then again I am new to Texas..

Am I wrong on this? Or did I miss a bunch of opportunities for nothing?

Haha

Thanks!
Posted By: Merican Duck Hunter

Re: Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 04:10 AM

you can water swat all you want. but I prefer backpedaling at 15yds as do most!

Re: Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 04:13 AM

Well crap HAHA

Live and learn.
Posted By: Sniper John

Re: Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 04:24 AM

I never shoot Ducks while they are swimming.

I wait for them to stop first.

Re: Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 04:33 AM

Originally Posted By: Sniper John

HAHA some states its illegal to shoot while they are on the water. But as you can tell I am a noob to Duck hunting here.. BUT I did get 5 on the last weekend of the season which was my first time ever duck hunting.

Re: Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 04:36 AM

Originally Posted By: jtprocaddie

HAHA some states its illegal to shoot while they are on the water.

Name one
Posted By: ishootspoonies

Re: Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 04:42 AM

HAHA some states its illegal to shoot while they are on the water. But as you can tell I am a noob to Duck hunting here.. BUT I did get 5 on the last weekend of the season which was my first time ever duck hunting.

pretty sure its not illegal in any state. And were these ducks the black ones with white bills and green lobed feet?

Re: Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 04:46 AM

or any large black ones with orange beaks?
Posted By: Pittstate

Re: Duck Hunting Question - 02/20/14 05:08 AM

I agree, tough to hit will swimming. I like to wait till they stop and turn broad side. More pellets to the vitals!