Texas Hunting Forum

Quail?

Posted By: BobbyWB

Quail? - 03/23/21 01:27 AM

I'm totally new to public hunting, but the sticky at the top of this forum is helpful with all the links.

FYI - I ran a quick search for "quail" and only saw two posts about it, and neither had what I was looking for. So, I'm posting the question here. Let me know if this has been talked about already & send me the link...

Question 1: What are some public hunting spots that have good quail? I'm in the Austin area & willing to travel a few hours for the right spot.

Question 2: Are hunting dogs allowed on all public hunting spots, or does it vary by location? I'm curious if I can bring my dog with me to hunt quail.

Thanks!
Posted By: bill oxner

Re: Quail? - 03/23/21 06:25 PM

Chaparral Wildlife management area is near you. They allow bird dogs.
Posted By: BobbyWB

Re: Quail? - 03/23/21 08:32 PM

Originally Posted by bill oxner

Chaparral Wildlife management area is near you. They allow bird dogs.

Thank you!

Re: Quail? - 03/23/21 11:41 PM

The Matador Wildlife Manage area has much more land. They are up in Cottle County.
Posted By: RGVshooter

Re: Quail? - 03/24/21 02:30 AM

I hunt the public WMA's in the RGV area. Not a lot of quail but if you're willing to do a lot of walking, you'll might get 1-3 birds. The Chaparral WMA is probably your best bet that's within reasonable driving distance from SA.
Posted By: jeh7mmmag

Re: Quail? - 03/24/21 03:28 AM

Lake Meredith WMA NE of Amarillo offer Quail hunting. Don't know the numbers or about dogs.

https://www.nps.gov/lamr/planyourvisit/hunting.htm

Re: Quail? - 03/24/21 11:47 AM

Quail numbers are down all over Texas. It is not just the WMAs. I found THF years ago while looking for the quail forecast.
Posted By: 1860.colt

Re: Quail? - 03/30/21 05:25 PM

Originally Posted by bill oxner
Quail numbers are down all over Texas. It is not just the WMAs. I found THF years ago while looking for the quail forecast.

bang too many predictors. ?