Texas Hunting Forum

Wise county?

Posted By: outdoorsmen54

Wise county? - 08/30/15 11:23 PM

Any Wise hunters seeing anything promising on camera yet? Seen the first hog on this place in about 15 years. Big boat hog is gonna take a dirt nap this week. I'll upload some pics of bucks we have on camera later this evening.
Posted By: JBlack

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 12:52 AM

I have tons of does. Only one spike. The land I hunt is connected to the grasslands. I wonder if all the bucks have been killed off.

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 03:01 AM

May be because of the no hunting pressure on the grasslands yet. I bet when shots start being fired for dove season this week bigger bucks start showing up.

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 01:47 PM

That is good to hear. This is my first year out there. The antler restrictions and antlerless laws have not worked in that area in my opinion.
Posted By: Cast

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 03:20 PM

I'd love to find a place to hunt in Wise County.

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 03:45 PM

I found and older gentleman that is tired of poachers on his land. I hope i dont have to many encounters but i have the game wardens phone number.

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 06:49 PM

Has anyone seen big bucks out there? I have heard reports of quality bucks but i am starting to think two does in the freezer will be just fine.

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 07:50 PM

There are zero deer in Wise County.
Posted By: Western

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 08:03 PM

Originally Posted By: Cast
There are zero deer in Wise County.

Pretty much, everyone shoots the few does we have roflmao !
Posted By: KennyLee

Re: Wise county? - 08/31/15 09:22 PM

Haven't filled my feeders since spring, but assume there are still some deer around. Around me is over shot badly most years. I'm planning to let my herd recoup from the drought this year. Fawn crops have been awful in recent years.

Then again, if some monster just happens to wander by.....