Texas Hunting Forum

Rut time around Mexia

Posted By: Hunt1212

Rut time around Mexia - 08/12/13 12:51 AM

This is my first year to hunt this area, anyone know when the rut is? I would guess around opening weekend.
Posted By: hoof n wings

Re: Rut time around Mexia - 08/12/13 02:02 AM

Do they have deer in Mexia?
Posted By: 603Country

Re: Rut time around Mexia - 08/12/13 02:27 AM

I'm 20 miles south of Mexia, and we have plenty of deer. As for when the rut is, all I can tell you is that from observing the buck and does in the yard this morning, it hasn't started yet.
:-)

I'll guess that it'll start in about November. Last year it was early around here and it appeared that it started before the season opened.
Posted By: Palehorse

Re: Rut time around Mexia - 08/12/13 02:53 AM

Click the link and look up your area.

http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/huntwild/hunt/planning/rut_whitetailed_deer/
Posted By: BBD84

Re: Rut time around Mexia - 08/12/13 11:24 AM

We have a place in Buffalo which isnt too far and our rut is in October, if you dont bow hunt you will miss the rut.
Posted By: BBD84

Re: Rut time around Mexia - 08/12/13 11:24 AM

Mid October
Posted By: EastTexun

Re: Rut time around Mexia - 08/12/13 01:13 PM

When I hunted in that area that rut was in late October sometimes stretching to the beginning of November. Depends really on what the ratios are like. If there are a bunch of does it will be stretched out a lot longer and harder to detect as compared to a tighter ratio. In Houston County the last week of October and first week of November have a lot of rutting activity historically for me.

Re: Rut time around Mexia - 08/12/13 10:42 PM

That's pretty much what I figured, I was hunting outside of Palestine so my guess sounds correct for that area.
Posted By: Egore_texas_hunter

Re: Rut time around Mexia - 08/13/13 01:03 AM