Texas Hunting Forum

Roasted Soybeans?...I'm a Believer Now!

Posted By: RedSnake

Roasted Soybeans?...I'm a Believer Now! - 07/15/12 02:04 AM

I've been throwing regular corn for last several months and have only had the same 2 does and a yearling 6 pt at the feeder everyday for the past 5 weeks -- been lots of natural browse that have kept the deer busy elsewhere.

Three days ago I started throwing a roasted soybean/corn mix and the deer have come out of the woodwork. I've got 5x the number of deer hammering this mix... including this little fellar.

I think i'm sold on this stuff.

Posted By: jshouse

Re: Roasted Soybeans?...I'm a Believer Now! - 07/15/12 02:07 AM

Nice buck. He missing an eye?

deer at my place loved it too

Re: Roasted Soybeans?...I'm a Believer Now! - 07/15/12 02:10 AM

Yep, looks like i'll have to name him "one eyed willy"...

Posted By: dlrz71

Re: Roasted Soybeans?...I'm a Believer Now! - 07/15/12 02:10 AM

Nice up

You putting them in the feeder or just throwing some out on the ground? Also where are you getting them if you don't mind me asking?

Posted By: SapperTitan

Re: Roasted Soybeans?...I'm a Believer Now! - 07/15/12 02:11 AM

Nice group of bucks and I would name him "Dead eye"

Posted By: Pittstate

Re: Roasted Soybeans?...I'm a Believer Now! - 07/15/12 02:12 AM

I can take care of that little fella for ya, lol.

That is great news, I was thinking about trying the corn/roasted soybeans from Martindales in Valley View i believe??? I am also wondering if they are just coming in because the natural browse is all drying out? I still haven't got the deer to come to feeders on my place yet. Of course I have a few acres of soybeans planted and they are hitting them pretty hard. Still good news to hear. Thanks for posting.

Re: Roasted Soybeans?...I'm a Believer Now! - 07/15/12 02:13 AM

Yep. I put it in the feeder and also spread a 50 lb sack along the trails leading to the feeder 3 days ago.