Texas Hunting Forum

help tracking??

Posted By: Bryan D

help tracking?? - 10/02/11 02:48 PM

ok everyone. I'm fairly new to bow hunting. I just shot a doe about 3 hours ago. gave her 2 hours to lay down. when I recovered the arrow at impact spot ( full pass through at 15-20 yards) there was zero blood. none on the arrow or ground. however the arrow is coated with hair and meat. I was using rage broadheads so I assume it would still be a fatal shot. deer was perfect broadside and what looked to be a perfect shot behind the shoulder.
any advice.

Posted By: bobcaslayer1

Re: help tracking?? - 10/02/11 02:56 PM

go back, slow down and try to remember which direction she ran.
start from where she was standing, and spend as much time as necessary until you find blood. If it was a vital shot there will be blood, you are just overlooking it. If you dont find blood there slowly I mean slowly start in the direction that she ran.

Re: help tracking?? - 10/02/11 03:01 PM

is it likely that there wouldn't be a blood trail? I've been on hands and knees searching for blood. I won't give up on her because I felt it was a good shot.

Posted By: Tye

Re: help tracking?? - 10/02/11 03:06 PM

Where did you see the arrow hit?(high,low,forward,back). There will be blood more than likely, but it won't be like a bullet wound. Depending on where you hit and the location of the exit wound, it might take a little while for the chest cavity to fill up and start draining out the exit. You will be looking more for small drops and not large puddles.

Go back to where you hit her and go step by step and walk in a half circle pattern in the direction she ran until you pick up the blood trail. You can also use toilet paper to mark the trail. It will help show you the direction if you loose the blood once you find it. Good Luck

By the way, just because you are using a Rage broad head doesn't mean its a lethal shot placement.FYI

Posted By: TonyUSMC

Re: help tracking?? - 10/02/11 03:12 PM