Texas Hunting Forum

How much meat off a doe and what to keep?

Posted By: catchin'

How much meat off a doe and what to keep? - 12/02/10 08:36 PM

I'm new to hunting and I'm starting to process my own meat. I'm going to make sausage and jerky.

How much meat do you get off a 3.5 medium size doe? I deboned the leg quarters and got 13 pounds of meat.

Do use the flap of meat meat that covers the ribs?
Do you get much meat off the lower part of the legs with all the muscles?
How much of the silver skin do you need to take off or do you?

Thank you in advance?

Posted By: south texas hunter

Re: How much meat off a doe and what to keep? - 12/02/10 08:47 PM

get backstrap also and cut off all that silver its fat

Posted By: Justin T

Re: How much meat off a doe and what to keep? - 12/02/10 08:48 PM

I'd say from an average hill country doe you get about 25-30 pounds of boned meat.

Re: How much meat off a doe and what to keep? - 12/02/10 08:49 PM

I also take as much silver skin off as I can. It doesn't taste good. If I'm going to grind it, then I am not quite as worried, but still take off what I can easily.

Re: How much meat off a doe and what to keep? - 12/02/10 08:58 PM

Originally Posted By: south texas hunter

Oh yeah I got them and the tenderloins.

Re: How much meat off a doe and what to keep? - 12/02/10 08:59 PM

Originally Posted By: Justin T
I also take as much silver skin off as I can. It doesn't taste good. If I'm going to grind it, then I am not quite as worried, but still take off what I can easily.

Do you spend time getting the stuff of the little leg muscles?
What about the rib flap?

Posted By: Shortysboy09

Re: How much meat off a doe and what to keep? - 12/02/10 09:05 PM

Personally I leave the rib flaps alone. But, that's just my personal preference.

Yep, get all that fat ( Silver ) off that you can. It is some mighty nasty stuff to me.

Posted By: agsellers04

Re: How much meat off a doe and what to keep? - 12/02/10 09:09 PM