Texas Hunting Forum

Soy Beans? Soy Bean and Corn mix?

Posted By: Deerhunter61

Soy Beans? Soy Bean and Corn mix? - 08/06/10 04:57 AM

I was just wondering if any of you are using soy beans exclusively in your feeders and if so what are the results? Are the deer hitting it better than corn?

What about a mixture of Soybeans and Corn?

I have been using a mixture I picked up at the feedstore and it seems to be getting hit pretty hard. Unfortunately when I went to the lease this past weekend a squirrel had gotten into my cage on my feeder and within two weeks had spun all the feed out so I only have pics from the first part of June so no recent pics to see what might be coming now.

Thanks for any responses.

Posted By: txhunter7

Re: Soy Beans? Soy Bean and Corn mix? - 08/06/10 05:38 PM

what is the mixture that you are using?

Posted By: Brownwood

Re: Soy Beans? Soy Bean and Corn mix? - 08/06/10 05:42 PM

Ive been using a roasted soybean and corn mix for a few years. It seems like I get a little higher buck traffic and it makes my feed a little different than the neighbors. Its also higher in protein but at spin feeder levels i dont think it helps like a free will protein feeder does.

Posted By: Stompy

Re: Soy Beans? Soy Bean and Corn mix? - 08/06/10 07:45 PM

I tried the soybean corn mix a few years ago. I don't know if it was the product I was buying or not but the bean was half the size of a kernal of corn. The deer would pick out the corn and the birds and turkey would eat the beans.

Posted By: txhunter24

Re: Soy Beans? Soy Bean and Corn mix? - 08/06/10 07:52 PM

I use Mr. Buck's corn and roasted soy bean like Brownwood said using it out of a spin feeder will not benefit nutritionally but it sure does seem to be a powerful attractant.

Posted By: Big Tony

Re: Soy Beans? Soy Bean and Corn mix? - 08/06/10 08:07 PM

It will bing 'em in quick. It will bring in damaging Pigs too. Be prepared. Dog gone stuff smells just like peanut butter.