Texas Hunting Forum

Hunting Clubs Near Fort Hood? (Central Texas)

Posted By: Wisemd123

Hunting Clubs Near Fort Hood? (Central Texas) - 06/26/14 03:19 AM

Hello everyone! I'm an enthusiastic novice hunter. I absolutely love the sport, and consider myself an outdoorsman. I really want to join a club where I can learn more about it and become an avid hunter. I just bought a bow and haven't harvested anything yet. I've been looking for hogs but haven't found any on public land. Waterfowl is my passion, I would love to learn more about that also. I guess I'm looking for an all around hunting club. Do you guys know of any that are forgiving towards beginners? Thanks in advance
Posted By: PMK

Re: Hunting Clubs Near Fort Hood? (Central Texas) - 06/26/14 12:51 PM

about the only one I am aware of in central Texas is Elm Creek about 10 miles east of Temple but I believe it's dove & duck only for hunting and also fishing (but might be catch & release???). http://elmcreekhunting.com/
Posted By: WileyCoyote

Re: Hunting Clubs Near Fort Hood? (Central Texas) - 06/28/14 02:29 AM

I'm told you have access on base for hunting areas...chime in SapperTitan ... and help a trooper out.
Ron
Posted By: jdickey

Re: Hunting Clubs Near Fort Hood? (Central Texas) - 06/30/14 02:02 PM

Check with the base WMR. If they are currently not having any event, they can point you in the right direction. Fort Hood offers some decent hunting for all game animals and predators.
Posted By: DiverTexas

Re: Hunting Clubs Near Fort Hood? (Central Texas) - 07/01/14 11:43 AM

Good luck Steven, hope someone can get you some good info.
You will always be welcome back at my place.
Posted By: Texmel

Re: Hunting Clubs Near Fort Hood? (Central Texas) - 07/01/14 03:04 PM

When I was on Active Duty with Army, The Post Rod & Bottle Club was a good source for hunting/fishing opportunities. Might check em out.
Posted By: JakeJJ

Re: Hunting Clubs Near Fort Hood? (Central Texas) - 07/01/14 03:52 PM