Texas Hunting Forum

Question about gutting

Posted By: toml_76

Question about gutting - 10/03/13 03:07 PM

When I went out yesterday afternoon, I found a gut pile right next to the parking area. It had been there maybe a little over a day. However, the actual hunting area was about 200 yards farther into the WMA. It seemed odd that someone would drag their kill guts and all at least 200 yards and then gut it right next to where they're parked.

Is this normal? I'm new to hunting, so I was just curious. Where do you gut your kills?
Posted By: TX_Huntress

Re: Question about gutting - 10/03/13 03:29 PM

Not normal, but not surprised at it. Lots of stupid people out there.
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: Question about gutting - 10/03/13 03:34 PM

A lot depends on the WMA rules and landowner rules...some want them gutted in the field and others at camp. I gut mine on the spot the drop usually or close to it. Could also have been someone who killed/gutted elsewhere and just dropped the guts off there. See this all the time on backroads.
Posted By: Daven

Re: Question about gutting - 10/03/13 03:39 PM

maybe they weren't sure just how to do it and had someone already at the car that could, or they left their stuff in the car?? I did that just this year with my first hunt over here? Killed a deer but was actually out for hogs. Didn't know if gutting the deer would bother the hogs so went and brought it to the stand, finished the hunt, then took it to the cars and gutted it where there was light and a place to hand/wash it out. Wasn't as big as the stuff you folks are getting tho... May have weighed 45 pounds...

Re: Question about gutting - 10/03/13 03:47 PM

Daven,

Good point, hadn't thought about those possibilities.
Posted By: dkershen

Re: Question about gutting - 10/03/13 04:00 PM

Was there a water source near the parkig area? Lot's of guy's like a water hose handy when field dressing. I know I do.

Re: Question about gutting - 10/03/13 04:26 PM