Texas Hunting Forum

tractor tire

Posted By: huntindude

tractor tire - 08/18/23 06:17 PM

A buddy of mine ran over a pipe. The pipe put a 2"+ gash (rounded pipe shape) through the tire. Flat guy said couldn't fix it. What does the THF pros think? Will post pic if I get one. 16X9-28 rear tractor tire. Ag treads.
Thanks
Posted By: cm250

Re: tractor tire - 08/18/23 06:24 PM

Tubeless, no way. If it has a tube, might be able to replace tube and use a heavy duty boot, but will always be a week spot for future issues. Would be best to replace tire. Just my 2cents confused2
Posted By: unclebubba

Re: tractor tire - 08/18/23 06:28 PM

I am far from an expert on the subject, but a 2" pipe shaped gash in a tire? Who would think that is fixable?
Posted By: Stompy

Re: tractor tire - 08/18/23 06:46 PM

Originally Posted by cm250
Tubeless, no way. If it has a tube, might be able to replace tube and use a heavy duty boot, but will always be a week spot for future issues. Would be best to replace tire. Just my 2cents confused2

Agree
Posted By: huntindude

Re: tractor tire - 08/18/23 06:50 PM

Thought so thanks.
Posted By: billyhunt

Re: tractor tire - 08/18/23 08:31 PM

Yep cm250 nailed it, The tractor i drive is an old 6310 JD, we have tube tire's on the back, it will have a weak spot, but tubless dont think a chance, Just my 2cents
Posted By: angus1956

Re: tractor tire - 08/19/23 12:27 AM

Time to pay the man $$$.
Posted By: machinist

Re: tractor tire - 08/20/23 01:05 AM

Take it to a recapper they can fix it. We had a tire dealership in the VW place I worked at in Big Spring. Bandag could do miracles with earth mover and tractor tires.
Posted By: HWY72

Re: tractor tire - 08/20/23 01:45 AM