Texas Hunting Forum

how to remove the hair from a hog

Posted By: texaschef

how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/14/10 07:35 AM

i plan on shooting some piglets this coming week and want to cook them whole. i was wondering what is the best way to remove the hair?

Posted By: mbavo

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/14/10 08:15 AM

when i was a kid,my dad and uncles butchered a hog and cooked whole on a spit. i remember they dipped theirs in hot water,then scraped the hair off. i have heard that this can be tricky. if the water temp is not right,it can set the hair and make it harder to come off. but i am not a pro,or know the proper water temp,thats just what i remember. i do remember the hog turned out excellent,and the skin was very good. golden brown and crispy.

Posted By: Justin T

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/14/10 03:22 PM

Why not just skin it?

Posted By: bill oxner

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/14/10 03:29 PM

It was a family affair when I was growing up. You have to get the right scald on them. It's called, "a good scald."

Posted By: helomech

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/14/10 04:18 PM

We would pour boiling water on them and then use a knife to scrape the hair off. You do this so you can make cracklin. If you skin it you can't make cracklin.

Posted By: dfwroadkill

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/14/10 06:01 PM

The desired temp is 150-155 degrees.. It's called a slow scald..

Posted By: coolie

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/14/10 06:09 PM

http://www.ehow.com/how_5525609_remove-hog-hair.html

Posted By: texaschef

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/15/10 08:31 AM

the skin holds the fat in, which is where the best flavor is.

Thanks for you suggestions everyone else

Posted By: DLALLDER

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/15/10 04:58 PM

The skin also holds the heart poison!!!!

Posted By: don k

Re: how to remove the hair from a hog - 05/15/10 11:42 PM