Texas Hunting Forum

Choosing the right Broadhead?

Posted By: joshjames

Choosing the right Broadhead? - 08/25/13 03:49 AM

I am new to bow hunting, and I am trying to figure out what type of broadhead to shoot?? Mechanical or fixed? What brand?? I have been looking at the G5 T3 mechanical broadhead but i have also heard some bad stuff about it.
Posted By: cmorsch

Re: Choosing the right Broadhead? - 08/25/13 07:50 AM

I prefer fixed blades because they don't have a chance to fail to open. That being said I do have some of the grim reapers that I keep around as backups and spares. For fixed blades I shoot muzzy mx-3 100gr, magnus stinger 100gr, stinger buzzcuts 125 gr, and german-kenetic silverflames in 100gr 125gr and 150gr, but will soon be adding either the 180gr or the 210gr to the lineup aswell or maybe both of them.
Posted By: pkhunter624

Re: Choosing the right Broadhead? - 08/25/13 02:04 PM

I've tried a lot of different brands over the years, been shooting slick tricks 125gr the last couple years and I am very happy with the way they shoot.

Re: Choosing the right Broadhead? - 08/25/13 02:07 PM

Alright thank you
Posted By: B Razorback

Re: Choosing the right Broadhead? - 08/25/13 06:50 PM

slick tricks are great broadheads but they do not leave a good hole. But if you get a good shot on a deer it will be deadly! I plan on buying some before season
Posted By: RUM Mann

Re: Choosing the right Broadhead? - 08/25/13 11:24 PM

I have shot lots of different fixed and mechanical heads over the years and my worst experiences have been with g5 Montecs. Now days I almost exclusively shoot Magnus heads ( stinger, snuffer, and 2 blade) because I can resharpen them and they have a lifetime warranty if they ever break they are replaced for free. But good luck breaking one these heads are tough and penetrate through every deer I have shot being cut on contact.
Posted By: Plain Lucky

Re: Choosing the right Broadhead? - 08/26/13 11:57 PM