Texas Hunting Forum

9mm

Posted By: fishonmyline

9mm - 11/22/12 02:37 AM

I want to buy a 9mm. I did some research and it seems there are a ton to choose from. Any favorites out there or one's to stay away from. I'm a real novice when it come to semi auto pistols.
Posted By: ju993rnaut

Re: 9mm - 11/22/12 02:56 AM

IMHO the quintessential 9mm handgun of the century is the glock 9mm(17,26,19). It's durability, reliability and fairly high capacity and relatively light weight really set the standard for modern duty type pistols to be measured.

Bring it on sig, cz and beretta lovers popcorn

All great pistols as well.
Posted By: Jester

Re: 9mm - 11/22/12 02:56 AM

I have a taurus that I like, but it is a LONG trigger pull. My wife has a Hi-point(very smooth shooting gun), they are inexpensive and pretty accurate. My Father in law also has a Hi-point, he also has a Sig I believe.
Posted By: ebfc

Re: 9mm - 11/22/12 03:12 AM

Buy a Glock 19. Then get into 9mm's, buy your dream gun, sell the 19. Then try several more, keep a few but figure you want one 9mm that is going to be the "right" size and works all the time. Then try to buy back your Glock 19. Oh and make it a Gen 3.
Posted By: JimTX

Re: 9mm - 11/22/12 03:12 AM

Ditto on the Glock. I think it is the best pistol for the money when one considers quality, reliability, magazine cost/availability. They are simple to operate. No decocker or external safety. PD trade in guns are often available at discounted prices and they still have a lot of life left in them.

All around great gun.
Posted By: one73maro

Re: 9mm - 11/22/12 03:35 AM

I would go with the Glock 19.
Posted By: Mr. Scott

Re: 9mm - 11/22/12 03:52 AM

Aimsurplus has gen 2 Glock 19s for $370
Factor in shipping and FFL fees and you're at about 425. For that money I'd get a new Sig 2022 at academy.
Posted By: fishonmyline

Re: 9mm - 11/22/12 03:54 AM

I was looking at the Taurus @ academy. Any info on those. Seems the glock is the way to go.