Print Thread
Who hunts with a flintlock? #8979007 12/28/23 12:22 AM
T
Travis Fry Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
T
I’ve been hunting with regular rifles for 35 years, reloading, all that stuff. I’m thinking about building a longrifle type flintlock from a Kibler kit, but I’ve not really been around muzzleloaders much. What resources would y’all recommend to get my started blackpowder hunting on the right foot? What tools do I need, what caliber/powder/bullets do you recommend, what’s the range procedure look like, ditto for hunting day, etc.? As I said, the hunting part I’m solid on, but don’t know a lot about the equipment.

Re: Who hunts with a flintlock? [Re: Travis Fry] #8981533 01/03/24 01:37 PM
kmon11 Online Shocked
junior
Online Shocked
junior
Looks like really good kits and huge step up from the old CVA kits but the price does reflect that. I have shot flint lock rifles but never hunted with one. The trad ML rifle I have hunted with was a CVA Kentucky kit gun.

Lock time on a Flint is a little longer but good accuracy can be had with them but takes discipline om the shooters part. As one of my Uncles said years ago you need a sense of humor to hunt with a ML these days but there is a satisfaction hunting with true traditional MLs.

My setup was the CVA Kentucky in 45 cal. I used patched round balls as the rifling for it was for round balls and any conical I tried accuracy was poor but with RB I could get 2 inch groups at 50 yards with a 308 rifle case full of FFF black powder. 1:66 twist rate is common with the old ones but not sure what Kibler uses but would think that might be the case with them.

Use only natural lubricants and cleaning for your trad ML. Think seasoning an iron skillet when shooting your rifle. With petroleum products you will get more rust than with the natural products. Just like an iron skillet once seasoned it protects from rust quite well but care must still be taken.