Print Thread
Well...Turkey Feathers! #5335670 10/01/14 07:34 AM
O
Oakysmoker Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
O
Opening day was long and hot. The morning was quiet with no shows at the gravity feeder. The bucks on my game cam have been enjoying the all you can eat buffet around midnight and are always gone by dawn. But the turkeys seem to have discovered the spillage and had been coming around pretty regular so I waited until around 3 in the evening. Sure enough a mess of birds came around for clean up on the corn crumbs.

This is my first year bow hunting, first day shooting from the stand and my first arrow to draw on a live target. I picked a large hen that was pointing away, drew back, aimed and let if fly. That's when I heard my bow thump off of the shooting rail. hammer I had left the rail down with the intention of perhaps securing the blind covering to it sometime in the future. I watched the arrow fly perfectly straight towards the center of the back...only it hit about 4" low and right near the birds butt.

To my shock I watched the arrow go low, hit the bird and then bounce back! I have shot the same type G5 broad-head through a block target and had to dig it out of a tree that was three feet beyond it.

Looking back, it was kinda funny seeing that bird scooted forward like it was skiing on water, feathers popping out everywhere. It didn't fly away and the rest of the birds just kinda stared at it like 'what is up with Henry?'.
They all did begin to get nervous and moved away before I could get another arrow in place.

I spent the rest of the day making adjustments to the blind, removing the factory seat, installing a small canvas seat, brushing in the legs, folding the shooting rail to the back and most importantly...practicing drawing and shooting through the two main vertical windows.