Main Menu
Forum
Guidelines/Rules
Photo Contest
THF Store
Contact/Advertising
Fishing Forum
Advertisement
Affiliates
Texas Fishing & Outdoors Show
Big Billy Kinder Outdoors
Honey Hole All Outdoors Television
Fat Boy Outdoors
Get A Limit Outdoors
 Barry Stokes’ Southwest Outdoors Report
Advertisement
Newest Members
JosephDunn, Bang Bang, OTG, masterkemen, Adam31
53297 Registered Users
Top Posters
RWH24 44262
dogcatcher 43323
stxranchman 39562
BMD 39374
rifleman 37612
Big Orn 37484
BOBO the Clown 32669
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 27416
txshntr 25164
Txkiller 23960
facebook
Forum Stats
53297 Members
41 Forums
390416 Topics
5020832 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#4301144 - 06/04/13 10:22 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: okstatefan]
Nate C. Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/27/08
Posts: 672
Loc: Southeast Texas
Nikoplex for me.
_________________________
Every Texas gun owner should be a member of the Texas State Rifle Association.


Top
#4301694 - 06/05/13 08:51 AM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: Nate C.]
Bob in TX Offline

Pro Tracker

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1278
Loc: Devine, TX
If you use the Spot On software, which is free from Nikon, the BDC reticle is very easy to use. You can print out field cards for each of your loads. I was hitting targets out to 500 yards with various rifles I had never shot before. I also have used it on everything from cross-bows to 10-22's (at 200 yards), slug guns (at 200 yards), and muzzleloaders (at 200 yards).

Here is a link to a report: http://texaspredatorposse.ipbhost.com/index.php?showtopic=26823

Bob

_________________________
The Texas Predator Posse
NRA Life Member/TSRA Life Member

Prescription Assistance: http://www.lsrxcare.org/index.cfm?id=71796

Top
#4301804 - 06/05/13 09:32 AM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: Bob in TX]
Newt1234 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/25/13
Posts: 148
Loc: San Angelo, TX
I have BDC on my .270WIN (ProStaff 3X9-40) and really like it. I have used it at 250yds and was hitting the target easily, 2 inch group. I use the SpotOn app for iPhone and find its very accurate. You can even add your own loads if you know all the specs.

I also have a .223 with a Buckmaster 4.5X14-40 with the mildot. If anything it would be more cluttered than the BDC. SpotOn software works for it as well. I Really like the Nikon scopes, without spending a thousand bucks they are as good as it gets IMO.

Top
#4304404 - 06/06/13 09:16 AM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: Newt1234]
GLC Offline

Veteran Tracker

Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 3157
Loc: Burleson Texas
I like the BDC, have 2 of them.
_________________________


Top
#4305032 - 06/06/13 01:04 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: GLC]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 8291
Loc: Melissa, Collin County
Wind hold is nothing more than a guess with a BDC. Maybe Nikon's test facility is in a vacume where only gravity is present.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#4305560 - 06/06/13 04:17 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: FiremanJG]
Bob in TX Offline

Pro Tracker

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1278
Loc: Devine, TX
....the Spot On software app adjusts for wind speed and direction.

No vacuum.

I am a hunter, not a long range match shooter. It works great for my purposes.


_________________________
The Texas Predator Posse
NRA Life Member/TSRA Life Member

Prescription Assistance: http://www.lsrxcare.org/index.cfm?id=71796

Top
#4305717 - 06/06/13 05:20 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: Bob in TX]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 8291
Loc: Melissa, Collin County
Bob, Sir

I'm a hunter also. And outside 300 yards things can get dicey when we're talking wind hold. I take pause shooting at a deer beyond 300, and I shoot out to 1000 almost monthly. I have my wind hold memorized, but I'll show you your wind hold for a 308.

per 5 mph or cross wind at 90 degrees to the shot

100 yards .1 Mil
200 yards .2 Mil
300 yards .3 Mil
400 yards .4 Mil

That holds up to 600 yards then it's:

600 yards .7 Mil
700 yards .8 Mil
ect

Say you're shooting 400 and there's a 7 mph right to left. Then you hold .6 Mil to the right of the center of the target. 500 Yards with a 10 mph at 3/4 value, that's .7 to .8 Mil

The BDC, and their program, gives folks a false sense of security. You know very well that in a hunting situation you do not have time to consult a ballistic calculator prior to making a shot on an animal.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#4305875 - 06/06/13 06:30 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: FiremanJG]
603Country Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/03/12
Posts: 2282
Loc: Central Texas
I'm not going to shoot the big buck out past about 300, not that I couldn't hit him at that range. It's the pigs and coyotes that I'll take out as far as I believe I can hit them. As I said earlier, I don't need BDC for less than 300. Get out to 400 or more and I find it useful. I don't see a problem having it on your scope. You don't have to use it, and the Leupold and Burris versions aren't too cluttered. As for Nikon, I really don't like shooting through the donuts in their BDC. I did buy one Nikon, but passed on getting BDC on it.

For my rifles that do have scopes with BDC, I put a small patch of blue painters tape on the forward bell of the scope and put the relevant info on it - sighted on at 200, dot 1 at 280, dot 2 at whatever. Works for me.

Top
#4316099 - 06/11/13 10:04 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: 603Country]
Nighteagle Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 11/17/12
Posts: 291
Loc: burleson, tx
Bdc reticle is worthless. If ur not shooting past 300 yrds just get simple crosshairs you will do just as well and not have that worthless junk mucking up ur shot

Night eagle

Top
#4328061 - 06/17/13 10:16 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: Nighteagle]
GUSVAL Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/12/12
Posts: 110
I use a Nikon BDC scope on my .30-.06. I went to Nikon's website and used the Spot On guide using Remington Core-Lokt 150 grain rounds. I shot a buck walking at 525yards while sitting on a hill top. I managed to hit the buck in the lungs.

Top
#4353300 - 06/29/13 12:41 AM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: GUSVAL]
Barton H Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/24/10
Posts: 69
Loc: Denton,Tx
Gus, Thanks for the post. I have shot BDC reticle scopes on multiple occasions out to 500+ yards utilizing Spot On to help my accuracy. Nothing like success to make a believer out of you. I have taken many guys to the range who didn't beieve Spot On would work only to make believers out of them. Having an open mind is the first step. Of course I'm not so short sighted that I believe it's for everyone. Check out Nikon's Spot On Ballistic Program and see if you think it will put more meat in your freezer, my guess is it will.
_________________________
My name is Bart, I am a longtime hunter and I am here to answer any questions on Nikon hunting optics you may have. I will also be sharing new products and specials on occasion.

Nikon Pro Staff
http://www.nikonhunting.com


Top
#4353708 - 06/29/13 10:31 AM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: Barton H]
Texas buckeye Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/22/11
Posts: 1784
Loc: Keller
I got a Nikon 'M-223 with the nikoplex reticle and recently sighted it in...I took it to 50 yards and shot about 12 shots to make sure it was hitting where it was supposed to. According to the spot on program it should be 0.6 inches low at 50 for a 100 yard zero, and that is where it was hitting consistently.

I then took it over to the 100 yard range, and I shot three shots (not quickly at all) and after checking paper I was exactly 2 inches high with a group no bigger than a quarter...

I was using a polymer tipped bullet instead of FMJ but still 55gr with approx muzzle velocity as what I had inputted into spot on. Any ideas why I was 2 inches high and not Spot on?

Of course I dialled it down and was hitting fine, but my barrel started warming up and it never hit that quarter sized group again.

Top
#4353851 - 06/29/13 11:47 AM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: Texas buckeye]
kmon1 Offline
junior
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 15305
Loc: Rowlett, Texas
Originally Posted By: Texas buckeye
I got a Nikon 'M-223 with the nikoplex reticle and recently sighted it in...I took it to 50 yards and shot about 12 shots to make sure it was hitting where it was supposed to. According to the spot on program it should be 0.6 inches low at 50 for a 100 yard zero, and that is where it was hitting consistently.

I then took it over to the 100 yard range, and I shot three shots (not quickly at all) and after checking paper I was exactly 2 inches high with a group no bigger than a quarter...

I was using a polymer tipped bullet instead of FMJ but still 55gr with approx muzzle velocity as what I had inputted into spot on. Any ideas why I was 2 inches high and not Spot on?

Of course I dialled it down and was hitting fine, but my barrel started warming up and it never hit that quarter sized group again.


spot on program or any ballistic program is only as accurate as the data used in the calculations. Different BC, velocity, scope above bore height... if an are off the output will be off

Top
#4354207 - 06/29/13 03:27 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: Texas buckeye]
BnT Online   content
Super Troll
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 04/02/13
Posts: 6420
Loc: Not Arlington
Originally Posted By: Texas buckeye
I got a Nikon 'M-223 with the nikoplex reticle and recently sighted it in...I took it to 50 yards and shot about 12 shots to make sure it was hitting where it was supposed to. According to the spot on program it should be 0.6 inches low at 50 for a 100 yard zero, and that is where it was hitting consistently.

I then took it over to the 100 yard range, and I shot three shots (not quickly at all) and after checking paper I was exactly 2 inches high with a group no bigger than a quarter...

I was using a polymer tipped bullet instead of FMJ but still 55gr with approx muzzle velocity as what I had inputted into spot on. Any ideas why I was 2 inches high and not Spot on?

Of course I dialled it down and was hitting fine, but my barrel started warming up and it never hit that quarter sized group again.


Barrel twist maybe? Bullet might not have been stable yet. Whats your twist rate?
_________________________
Achieving a free society requires courage to think, to talk, and to act...
-Philosophy of Liberty

Top
#4354271 - 06/29/13 04:13 PM Re: BDC vs Nikoplex on a Nikon [Re: BnT]
Texas buckeye Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/22/11
Posts: 1784
Loc: Keller
I have an M&P 15 and the twist is 1:9.

I initially thought the twist ratio might be to blame, but I would think if it was a twist rate issue I wouldn't have gotten the first three shots at 100 within a quarter sized group....seems awfully tight for unstable bullets. It was just weird. Exactly 2 inches high, dead center. And like I said, they were hitting 0.5 inches at 50. Just thought it was strange...

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >



© 2004-2014 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide